My Favourite Cat has kidney disease

My favourite cat was diagnosed with kidney disease in October of 2009 after blood work was done and his kidney levels were high.  Hhe had to be put on prescription cat food called K.D.  I was worried he wouldn’t like it but he’s eating it fine.

When I took him to the Vet in March for more blood levels they had dropped from 231 to 198 for creatinine.  Normal is 177 at its highest.  I was pleased that is was a better level and he had gained a little over two pounds and I was happy about that.

Kidney disease in cats is not curable but I’m working on giving him as long as a life as possible.

The downsize is that my overweight female cat is gaining more weight on the diet but they both eat the same food.

The Vet asked if I could separate them but that would be cruel as they love each other and spend a lot of time with each other.  I don’t want to distrupt their lives.

About AveryT

I like writing, animals, travelling. I am currently taking internet courses to learn how to build a web page and write an e-book.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Favourite Cat has kidney disease

  1. AveryT says:

    Kidney disease is higher in cats recently, I wonder if it has anything to do with the pet food recall last year?

  2. AveryT says:

    I heard a raw diet helps

Leave a Reply

