Enjoying birds and other critters without owning them

My two bird feeders which are hung up on my back porch and my bird bath in my back garden let me enjoy watching  a variety of birds.  I also have a tree in the back which produces red berries and the birds go nuts over this too.

Morning doves are one of my favorite birds and I like the sound they make which is like a “whoo, whoo”.  They are too big to get on the feeders so they eat what is spilled below.

One of my bird feeders has a cage around it and lets small birds in but is designed to keep the squirrels out.  This does not stop the much smaller chipmunk from climbing in a gorging himself on the seeds.  I was so surprised to see him last year as I only thought they lived up north, not in southern regions like lake Ontario.

The squirrels will eat from the other bird feeder (without the cage) and also will eat the fallen seeds from the deck.

I enjoy watching the various birds and other critters while sitting at my kitchen table.

About AveryT

I like writing, animals, travelling. I am currently taking internet courses to learn how to build a web page and write an e-book.
This entry was posted in The joy of wild birds and animals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

